Tag Archives: Little Quarter

The Four Quarters of Prague

Prague, until around 1800, just consisted of 4 separate towns that had 4 town squares, which were all divided by defended walls. Every town had distinctive qualities, that originated from the personalities of the individuals who settled in them initially. These days, most of the charm of Prague endures within the unique spirit of all of its' towns.

Read More »

Lesser Town (Malá Strana)

The Little Quarter (Mala Strana), originally called the New Town of Prague and later on called The Minor Town of Prague, was founded by the king Pfemysl Otakar II, in the year 1257. However, as early as in the 8th century, there was a market settlement here.

Read More »